
Who is eligible for a  
First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account?

A qualified Kansas First-Time Home Buyer is a 
person who has never owned or purchased under 
contract for deed, either individually or jointly, a 
single-family, owner-occupied primary residence 
including, but not limited to, a condominium unit or a 
manufactured or mobile home that was assessed and 
taxed as real property; or as a result of the individual’s 
dissolution of marriage, has not been listed on a 
property title for at least three consecutive years.

How do I open and register an account?
Potential account owners can establish a First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account at any qualified 
financial institution. Financial institution means any 
state bank, state trust company, savings and loan 
association, federally chartered credit union doing 
business in this state, credit union chartered by the 
state of Kansas, national bank, broker-dealer, mutual 
fund, insurance company or other similar financial 
entity qualified to do business in this state.
Financial institutions are not required to classify 
money saved in these accounts as funds intended for 
the purchase of a first-time home. After establishing 
an account with a qualifying financial institution, 
an account owner designates the account as a First-
Time Home Buyer Savings Account by reporting the 
account and its funds to the Kansas Department of 
Revenue on Schedule FHBS when filing your Kansas 
Income Tax Return.

A certificate of deposit can be used as a First-Time 
Home Buyer Savings Account, per Attorney General’s 
Opinion 2023-7.

What are the tax advantages to opening a  
First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account?

Contributions made by Kansas state income taxpayers 
to a First-Time Home Buyer Account during the tax 
year may qualify for a state income tax deduction for 
the account holder. Up to $3,000 can be deducted for 
individual filers, and up to $6,000 can be deducted for 
joint filers.
Please consult with your tax advisor or contact the 
Kansas Department of Revenue for guidance on 
deducting contributions made into First-Time Home 
Buyer Savings Account.

What are the limits on the account?
The maximum contribution to an account in any tax 
year is $3,000 for an individual and $6,000 for a 
married couple filing a joint return. The maximum 
amount of all contributions into an account in all tax 
years is $24,000 for an individual and $48,000 for a 
married couple filing a joint return.
If an annual or aggregate contribution limit is 
exceeded, or if the balance of the account exceeds 
$50,000, then thereafter all interest or other income 
earned on the investment of moneys in the account 
shall be subject to Kansas income tax.
To take advantage of the tax benefits associated with 
a First-Time Home Buyers Account, an account must 
be established and funded for at least one year before 
a qualified withdrawal is permitted. If the funds are 
used before this one-year stipulation, the funds are 
subject to taxation.
If funds are withdrawn from a First-Time Home Buyer 
Account for non-eligible expenses, they are subject 
to taxation and may be penalized. Funds may remain 
in an account for an unlimited duration without the 
interest or income being subject to recapture or penalty, 
subject only to the $50,000 threshold.
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QUICK TIP: Many financial intuitions allow you to give accounts a “nickname” through their 
online banking systems. You may wish to nickname your account as “My First-Time Home Buyer 
Savings Account” to remind yourself to keep this account separate from your other funds.



Account holder: An individual who establishes, 
either individually or jointly with another individual 
with whom they file joint tax returns, an account 
with a financial institution for which the account 
holder claims a First-Time Home Buyer Savings 
Account status on his or her income tax return. 
Account holders that are qualified First-Time Home 
Buyers can establish themselves as the beneficiary. 
An individual account holder can have unlimited 
accounts, but each account must have separate 
designated beneficiaries.

Designated beneficiary: The individual designated 
by an account holder as the individual whose eligible 
expenses are expected to be paid from the account for 
the purchase or construction of a primary residence 
in this state. An individual may be the beneficiary of 
more than one account if they are held by separate 
account holders.

An account holder may change the designated 
beneficiary at any time, but no account shall have 
more than one designated beneficiary at any time. 
No account holder shall be authorized to designate 

the same designated beneficiary on multiple accounts 
held by such account owner.

Eligible expense: Funds in a First-Time Home Buyer 
Savings Account can be used for down payments 
and closing costs that may be included as part of a 
real estate settlement agreement, including, but not 
limited to, appraisal fees, mortgage origination fees 
and inspection fees or any down payment, costs and 
fees that may be included as part of financing the 
construction of a primary residence. The residence 
must be located within the State of Kansas, unless the 
designated beneficiary is an active-duty member of 
the military who was stationed in Kansas for any time 
after the creation of the account.

Funds may also be transferred to another newly 
created account or used to pay service fees assessed 
by the financial institution.

Important Definitions

Further Information
•	 Kansas Department of Revenue Notice 21-06: First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account Act 

https://www.ksrevenue.gov/taxnotices/notice21-06.pdf#search=first%20time%20home%20buyer

•	 Kansas Department of Revenue Schedule FHBS 
https://ksrevenue.gov/pdf/schFHBS.pdf

•	 First-Time Home Buyer Savings Account Act (K.S.A. 58-4901 et seq.) 
http://kslegislature.org/li/b2023_24/statute/058_000_0000_chapter/058_049_0000_article/058_049_0001_
section/058_049_0001_k/

•	 Attorney General’s Opinion 2023-7 
https://ag.ks.gov/docs/default-source/ag-opinions/2023/2023-007.pdf
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